Dog fences, wireless or buried?

/ Dog fences, wireless or buried? #1  

Green_in_MI

Silver Member
Tractor
JD 4200, JD B, JD 50
I need a fence to keep my brown and black Labs in the yard. Does anyone use those radio dog fences and how do they like them? I am considering either type(wireless or buried). While I dig the idea of burying the wire because of more tractor time and having to buy another implement. I really have no shortage now of tractor work to do. If I go the wireless route I plan on using two so I can stretch out the coverage to about 180x300 feet. With buried wire I could let my dogs run on a much bigger area. How well do the wireless systems work and has anyone had problems with either? Thanks for any comments.

/ Dog fences, wireless or buried? #2  
Green in MI,

I have no experience with the wireless.

As far as using the buried wire and receiver collars, it depends on the dog. Some dogs are more prone to ignoring the collar than others.

Our Border Collie is extremely sensitive to the sound and stimulation. Once he hears the beep emitted by the collar, he cringes and comes to us. So it depends on your dog.... /w3tcompact/icons/hmm.gif

Based upon our experience, the buried system works very well. I bought and installed a Innotek Contain and Train and it works very well. In fact, our dog broke the receiver in his collar but did not know that it did not work. We were successful in keeping him contained for several months until he overcame his fear and decided to visit the neighbors. I bought a new collar and he immediately recognized the beeping and has stayed in the yard. In fact, we now use the training portion of the system to reinforce verbal commands when he "forgets" what he needs to do.

The cost is a little steep - around $450 for three acres. I believe our system will cover up to 25 acres.

Hope this helps...

Terry

/ Dog fences, wireless or buried? #3  
I've owned two wired systems.