Ice Fishing Shack Heater?

/ Ice Fishing Shack Heater? #1  

Tig

Elite Member
Tractor
Kubota, B7100HST-D
I'm looking for a heater for my new ice shack. Something like a "MrHeater" Compact and portable. Can anyone recommend a portable heater? It will travel out to the shack each trip and then be brought home.
The shack is very well insulated and I figure 4-10,00 BTU will be plenty of heat.
Here are my thoughts on the various fuels and technologies;
Radiant propane. Quiet, clean. pain to lug the bottle and hoses around. Disposable bottles are kind of pricey.
Naphtha burners and lanterns. (Coleman) Self contained fuel supply. Lanterns give good light and heat but are a bit fragile during transport. Burners rugged, good heat, open flame is a nuisance in confined spaces.
Radiant Kerosene. Could be the best of both worlds? I have no experience with these heaters. I could not find one small enough in my searches.
Comments? Experience?
Thanks.

Last edited:
   / Ice Fishing Shack Heater? #3  
They may not even exist aymore, but I remember when I was a kid and we went camping, my Dad used to have a Coleman Tent Heater. It ran on naptha, and had a round domed surface about 8" or 9" across which would flame up a bit when you lit it, but then no visible flame. You could cook an egg on it if you really wanted to, it was hot enough, and you had to be carful not to put your hand down on it, but it sure kept the tent trailer warm all night on one fill in the self-contained little fuel tank.

/ Ice Fishing Shack Heater? #4  
I just saw a gallon can of Coleman fuel at Meijers last night. It brought back fond memories of camping, flaming tents, fumes and spilled fuel... Ahhh, The Boy Scouts were great! :D Oh yeah, the gallon of Coleman fuel was $9.98! :eek:

I bought a portable ice fishing shelter last year. I got the Shappell DX3000 with ski kit. Nice hut! ;)