Building a retaining wall...by hand.

/ Building a retaining wall...by hand. #1  

N80

Tractor
Kubota L4400 4wd w/LA 703 FEL
I recently moved into my grandmother's house in town. The back yard is long and narrow and has three terraces. The top terrace is the largest and is probably 4 feet higher than the top of the one below it, the next one is maybe 2-3 feet high. The bottom one is pretty much just a small slope. Each one slopes down to the next.

I would like to build a retaining wall for the top two terraces. My plan would be to start at the bottom of the slope, build the wall up to the right height and fill it in. I would like to use pre-fab cement landscape blocks.

The problems are: 1) I've never done this before and do not know what I'm doing and I don't want this thing to be falling over in a year. 2) I will have to do it by hand. There is no good access for my tractor into this back yard. Stone and fill dirt will have to be dumped in the driveway and taken back by hand/wheel barrow. A very small skid steer might fit back there. 3) I will need to build a set of stairs going down for both terrace....but I'll worry about that later.

On the positive side, there is no time limit for this. It could be a long term project.

Has anyone done such a thing themselves? Any tips or pointers? Any resources I need to look up?

I'm very much in the planning/feasibility stage with this at this point. If it looks too daunting I'll just save money for a while and get a pro to do it.

/ Building a retaining wall...by hand. #2  
I don't want this thing to be falling over in a year

Don't build it plumb, build it so it angles back into the slope. Start low enough to prevent undermining.

/ Building a retaining wall...by hand. #3