Civil 3d and AutoCAD?

/ Civil 3d and AutoCAD? #1  

paulharvey

Veteran Member
Tractor
Kubota L285
I recently found my self looking for work again, in the construction/engineering field. I've noticed many jobs that didn't used to require some familiarity with AutoCAD civil 3d. Is there a free super basic way to learn at least how to view and make small changes to an existing plan. I'm not trying to become a drafter or anything, just have a general idea how to view and navigate existing plans. My background is in construction supervision and inspection, and I've never need any of this; but it could be a useful tool/resume helper. I'm not completely new to the concept of CAD, I've used a simple program called Chief Architect years ago, but it's completely different; ie apples to torque converters.

/ Civil 3d and AutoCAD? #2  
Autodesk AutoCad Trueview is a free viewer to look at autodesk drawings. It is not a learning tool, but you can look at existing plans. Some of the CAD programs have a 30 free trial period if you wish to pursue that angle.

If you have a high school career center (vocational school) nearby, many of them have night classes or a weekend class pretty cheap to get a basic class. There are some online courses, but I do not know how good they are or if they are worth your time. Good luck.

/ Civil 3d and AutoCAD? #3  
The only way you are going to learn civil 3d is to take a class, it's a huge powerful program that does a lot. It's totally different from previous versions of cadd.

/ Civil 3d and AutoCAD? #4  
See, AutoCAD is not that simple. But, of course there are ways of learning of it. The tutorial on the official website is itself so powerful that you don't need anything. But learning the basic concepts you need to observe some basic plans also. The top civil engineering firms have all made it compulsory for their engineers to learn and implement plans on AutoCAD. This tool have given a helping hand to civil engineers.