are pickup truck camper caps brand specific?

/ are pickup truck camper caps brand specific? #1  

randy41

Veteran Member
i've got a 99 f-150 standard cab 8' bed 4wd pickup that i need to get a cap for. when i'm looking on cl for a used one do i need to get one that 'fits' my pickup? or are all 8' caps the same size?

/ are pickup truck camper caps brand specific? #2  
They are not all exactly the same. While they may be 8 ft long, different models of trucks vary in width. Some are wider in front than rear, etc. Most larger cap companies make model specific caps. If you find a good deal on CL though, set it on the truck and check it out. It may be close enough that you're happy and you save big money.

/ are pickup truck camper caps brand specific? #3  
i've got a 99 f-150 standard cab 8' bed 4wd pickup that i need to get a cap for. when i'm looking on cl for a used one do i need to get one that 'fits' my pickup? or are all 8' caps the same size?

I'm no expert, but I think caps may be brand//model specific. I'm thinking about replacing my 2005 Tundra with a new Tundra. I have been happy with the ARE cap on the 2005 model and so I checked the ARE website to look at their current cap models: A.R.E. : Manufacturer of Truck Caps, Truck Canopies, Truck Toppers, Camper Shells, Hard Tonneau Covers, Work Caps, Fiberglass Tops, and Truck Accessories.. Some of the cap models are not available for Tundras.

Steve

/ are pickup truck camper caps brand specific? #4  
They are not all exactly the same. While they may be 8 ft long, different models of trucks vary in width. Some are wider in front than rear, etc. Most larger cap companies make model specific caps. If you find a good deal on CL though, set it on the truck and check it out. It may be close enough that you're happy and you save big money.

What he said. Even same make and model but different year may or may not be different.. Either get the exact thing, or check it out yourself by try fitting.