Are you "lucky"if you have a secure retirement?

Status
Not open for further replies.
   / Are you "lucky"if you have a secure retirement? #1  

JDgreen227

Tractor
4210 MFWD Ehydro--'89 JD 318
I recently reconnected with a guy I graduated with and hung out with during high school and afterwards, and the years have not been kind to him. He never found a job that satisfied him during his prime working years from 1970-2010, meaning he never stayed in one position long enough to earn a pension or retirement benefits. Nor did he try to save or invest anything so at age 63 he is working as a Wal-Mart associate and collecting the bare minimum in Social Security. I have an older sister who is basically in the same position because she too never wanted to work full time....just coast along.

Not trying to brag here, but when I began working I tried to find a career that offered a decent pension and other retirement perks, and gradually moved up the ladder over 31 years and tried to invest, as well as renovate a pair of run-down houses that became rentals and I sold at the right time because I followed market conditions. I was able to retire at age 51 when my employer offered an enhanced early retirement...because I had so much home equity built up I got by until SS kicked in at age 62...today I have a pension, SS, and interest income as well as no mortgage.

Invited my recently discovered old classmate over for dinner, and while I think he is happy for me much of what he said made me sad. Quote: "Why didn't my parents tell me that I needed to find a job with a pension, or encourage me to save for retirement? Or it should have been taught to me in school...."

This from a man who has a BA in business....!!!!! You would think he would know the basic facts.