My Jeep needs help

/ My Jeep needs help #1  

toddler

Gold Member
Tractor
Previously: Kubota B2710. Now Deere 3520
Hi everyone,
I seem to have a problem with my '95 Jeep Grand Cherokee that nobody can figure out. I was hoping to get some suggestions from all you mechanically inclined tractor lovers before I bring it in AGAIN.

So here's my dissertation on the problem.

My jeep has the 4 liter 6 cylinder engine, 4wd auto. Because it seemed to have a little less pick up than when new, at 50K miles I decided to do a tune up. So I bought the instruction book for the car, and proceeded to change the plugs, wires, distributor cap, and rotor. Not being a mechanic, I did this all at once, not in steps, and when the book said grease the contacts of the distributor cap with dialectric grease, I greased the ones on the inside of the cap./w3tcompact/icons/blush.gif Apparently the book meant the ones for the wires.

I then restarted my car, with its new Bosch plugs and fancy wires. It fired up after a few seconds, then almost stalled. The tach went to about 300 and the car shuddered, so I gave it some gas. The tach went back to its normal idle, but it seemed rough. I drove it around a little after making sure the wiring was ok, and it drove fine. But the idle stayed rough./w3tcompact/icons/frown.gif

I then went to several mechanics to ask what was wrong, and nobody had any ideas. The wires seemed good, but I changed them again. No difference. Replaced the cap and rotor (sans grease), no fix. Went back to OEM plugs, no fix. Our local jeep dealer and mechanics at 2 garages said it probably was rough before, and I didn't notice.