Hourly vs Salary?

/ Hourly vs Salary? #1  

ultrarunner

Epic Contributor
SF Bay Area-Ca Olympia WA Salzburg Austria
Tractor
Cat D3, Deere 110 TLB, Kubota BX23 and L3800 and RTV900 with restored 1948 Deere M, 1949 Farmall Cub, 1953 Ford Jubliee and 1957 Ford 740 Row Crop, Craftsman Mower, Deere 350C Dozer 50 assorted vehicles from 1905 to 2006
Almost all of the last 26 years I've been a salaried employee and the last 7 I have had a lot of latitude keeping the hospital going due to the revolving door at the top and have become the go to person in just about every aspect outside patient care... negotiating contracts, setting priorities, capital equipment, licensing, permits, compliance issues, accreditation, new employee orientation, etc... my background is engineering and I was recruited all those years ago.

Today it was made official my little regional Hospital is being acquired and I was given a contingent offer letter with employment packet.

My salaried Position is to be eliminated and the offer is hourly along with slightly better benefits effective in 60 days.

The contingent part is a physical, drug testing, background, etc.

For the life of me I cannot figure out the reality of how this will work... if I continue my present duties it could get expensive as my responsibilities vary greatly over any 7 day period with a mixture of long and short days... many engineering jobs are done outside the surgery schedule... read after hours.

Becoming hourly means mandatory punching in and out for work start/stop, lunch and breaks with any exception requiring documentations and approvals... it also means overtime which is something I have never ever had... but I imagine it could be very lucrative if I were to paid for all my time... typical busy time is from about 6 am to 6 pm 7 days a week.

Part of me says to give it a try as I could always leave and another part is hung up on the logistics of it all.

/ Hourly vs Salary? #2