HVAC System 20 Years Old, Time to Proactively Replace??

/ HVAC System 20 Years Old, Time to Proactively Replace?? #1  

NY_Yankees_Fan

Veteran Member
Tractor
Kubota BX 2200
Our heating system is a natural gas forced hot air system with a 15 year old AC condenser. It is operating with no problems, I had the system inspected and the technician said the heat exchanger is fine. I just purchased the home so I have no knowledge on the history of the system. It has an efficiency of 80% with a single stage blower. We spend most winters away from the home.

Here is my concers/comments.

1. Should I replace the system now before I have problems. I would go with a high efficiency 98% unit as well as the AC condenser. If I am away and the system fails I would have to make repairs remotely and pay $$$ for the emergency service.
2. The ductwork is old I am thinking 50 plus years old, the house was constructed in 1928. I would have the entire system evaluated to make sure the ductwork is adequate in size. It is all exposed in the basement and accessible. All of the ductwork is exposed metal, thinking insulation would help.
3. We plan to be in the house for at least 20 years.
4. I upgraded the attic insulation to R49, all windows have been replaced with high efficiency units. The walls are not insulated since with exterior brick it would not make sense to spend the $$$.
5. I would like to add a humidifier and electronic air cleaner if I upgrade the system.
6. I have a 2nd floor bedroom about 150 sq. ft. which is rarely used, perhaps 10-15 days a year. I would like to zone this off from the rest of the home, is this possible?

This my 1st experience with hot air system all other homes had a hot water baseboard system.

So replace or wait for it to break? Should I consider any other upgrades?

Thanks
Tom

/ HVAC System 20 Years Old, Time to Proactively Replace?? #2  
My heat pump was installed in 1979, during the home construction.