Lasers at aircraft - How to catch?

/ Lasers at aircraft - How to catch? #1  

r0GuE

Veteran Member
Tractor
ex-Bota Owner
I'm drinking my coffee and thinking about the recent rash of lasers being fired into cockpits of airliners. I work as an engineer, and I just can't figure out how anybody is going to catch the perps unless they install sensor gear on every aircraft.

So I thought it would be interesting to hear from the TBN crew. Short of installing sensors and directional gear on every aircraft, how would you really ever catch them? /forums/images/graemlins/confused.gif

/ Lasers at aircraft - How to catch? #2  
Rogue I may be wrong but I caught the tale end of the news last night and I thought they said they may already have the guy involved, one of them anyway.

I believe that a laser beam is visible from the source if it pierces fog. At least that what I remember. I have one mounted on a 9 MM Smith & Wesson and if it is pointed out in a clear night you would be hard pressed to find the source.

/ Lasers at aircraft - How to catch? #3  
I'm kind of curious as to how serious a problem this is.

I would think that a laser pointed at an aircraft....miles away, would be attenuated quite a bit by the atmosphere. I would think it would have to be a fairly powerful laser...more then most individuals could afford or build, to damage a pilot's eyes. It would seem just a bright light source (like one of those spot lamps you can plug into a vehicle cigaret light) could screw up a pilot's night vision more then a commercially available laser.

/ Lasers at aircraft - How to catch? #4  
Since lasers shoot only straight lines, is it possible that the shooter would have to be at or close to same level as the aircraft targeted? I wonder also how powerful of a laser it would have to be to shoot as far as distance the shooter would be away from the airplane? /forums/images/graemlins/confused.gif

/ Lasers at aircraft - How to catch? #5