Question for Dodge Cummins truck owners

/ Question for Dodge Cummins truck owners #1  

Cityboyfarmer

Gold Member
Tractor
Kubota B8200D; JD 5205 MFWD w/522 Loader
I know this might stir some folks up, but lets dicuss this politely, shall we?

I am a diesel fan with a 2003 Excursion running the 6.0. For a little background info, I worked as a tracked vehicle mechanic, tearing down and rebuilding 12 cylinder, 1,790 C.I.D. Teledyne Continental super-turbocharged tank engines from the crank shaft up, in the USMC for 4 years. So I have enough old diesel experience to be dangerous. /forums/images/graemlins/grin.gif

I have noticed a tendency of Dodge diesel owners to idle their trucks in public for extended periods of time. Being a diesel vehicle owner, I find myself noticing and admiring other diesel pick-ups as I travel about. I do not see the Powerstroke or Duramax owners idling their engines for extended periods of time. Is there a mechanical reason for this, or do you Cummins folks just think that loud Cummins just sounds cool?

On my way to Florida last Friday, I pull off I-75 and stop at a Flying "J" to fuel up. I idle up to the pump, take off my seatbelt and shut the engine off. As I begin fueling, up pulls a Dodge Cummins 2500 to my left, then a Dodge dually pulls in to the front. Both these guys idle the entire time they are fueling! The noise was deafening /forums/images/graemlins/crazy.gif

Next, we stop at a grocery store in Fort Meyers to stock up the condo for two weeks on Sanibel Island. Theres a guy waiting in his Dodge Diesel for his wife to come out of the store..yep, you guessed it, idling his engine the whole time.

First day on Sanibel Island, riding bicycles around the Island and what do I happen upon? You guessed it agian! Before I can even see it, I can hear the "clacka-lacka-clacka-lacka" of the Dodge owner idling in front of a local business.