anyone familiar with "Roto-Hoe" Rototiller?

/ anyone familiar with "Roto-Hoe" Rototiller? #1  

peterc38

Platinum Member
Hi,

There is a guy down the road from me selling a “Roto-Hoe” tiller. I never heard of this brand but after a little research I found they were made by a company in Ohio that is now out of business. I’m no expert, but this thing looks to be built like a tank. Much more heavy duty than some of the newer tillers you see today @ home depot or lowes. It appears to be 20-25 years old. It has an 8HP Tecumsuh engine on it. It looks like about an 18” tilling width. He only wants $100 or best offer. I talked to him on the phone and he says it runs fine, but when he starts to till he says it slows down or slips. I’m no mechanic, but sounds like a belt or something slipping. Does this sound fixable? I also found that there are sources for parts/manuals online for these machines as well. Since I could probably get it for less than $100 it doesn’t sound too risky, even if I have to put a little money into it.

I would appreciate any opinions and/or input, thanks

/ anyone familiar with "Roto-Hoe" Rototiller? #2  
I used to have a big front time roto Hoe tiller. Was ok, but you needed to weith 300lbs to use it in hard soil.

I called it "Atiller the Hun", because it would conquer your butt.
Other than that it was ok. Never had to work on it, but bought used and only had 3 years.

/ anyone familiar with "Roto-Hoe" Rototiller? #3  
I own one - purchased new around 1982 and Yes it is built like a tank and Yes it will bust through anything as long as you are strong enough to control it!