2x6 or 2x4 walls?

/ 2x6 or 2x4 walls? #1  

JRobyn

Elite Member
Tractor
Kubota L4330HST
Hi folks,

We're starting to gather plans for the house at the farm, and one of our first decisions is to go with either 2x6 or 2x4 for exterior wall framing. This is for middle TN, where there are typically not weather extremes, nor severe wind loads, so I'm not really convinced that the extra cost of the 2x6 framing is justified. Anyone have any good metrics regarding the cost difference and other pros or cons?

- Jay

/ 2x6 or 2x4 walls? #2  
I'm not an expert (by ANY stretch) but... I've heard of using 2x6's where you want to help isolate sound transmission from room X through the walls to room Y.

So, if you're going to do a home theater, you might consider using something like that to help isolate that room from the rest of the house.

As for using it on outside walls, I suppose one could put thicker insulation in there?

Would also give you more room inside the walls for wiring & stuff? (though I guess that's not a major problem anyway?)

The next house that we build WILL have a "sound room" and I'll do everything I can do, at least to that room, to help isolate it from the rest of the house.

Having two monster speakers (see avatar :eek: ) in my house is one thing but if I can have it MY way, our next house will have 5 of those in a HT room and it WILL be something to die for!!

:D

/ 2x6 or 2x4 walls? #3  
Normally homes in the north are 2x6 on the outside for insulation purposes and 2x4 in the inside walls. I added insulation in the inside for noise purposes and not give the walls the "hollow" sound you get when empty.

The cost really might only be a hundred bucks more for the exterior and it's worth it for structure strength and noise help.

/ 2x6 or 2x4 walls? #4  
Afternoon Jay,