Creek taking my yard.

/ Creek taking my yard. #1  

Steelfan

Platinum Member
Tractor
New Holland TC21D
I've been wrestling with a problem for about the last 10 years. My back yard is lower then the rest of my yard, and is bordered by a creek. The creek has no real bed, and overflows all the time. One year I raked, and shoveled 75 big wheelbarrow loads of stone, and dirt out of my yard. I know should have had my tractor then. The problem is the creek makes 2 bends of almost 90 degrees one right then left. It washes out about 3 to 4 feet of yard a year now. Does anyone know what my options are for correcting this problem? I do have some large stones down on the bank at one spot, and that helps a lot. Is the answer to get more stone, or build a dike or something else? Thanks in advance for replies. Kent

/ Creek taking my yard. #2  
Well at the lakes here they use rip-rap to prevent erosion. Rip-rap is basically driveway stone cut about softball size. When piled up thick against the bank it will virtually prevent any wash away. You can also use a special rot proof underliner that will make it even better. I have the exact same problem as you do. In some areas I get a double whammy because the water washing down to the creek erodes it from the top as well. Unfortunately I have way too much creek to try to solve it. Fortunately it is no where near my house so I can live with it better than your situation. Good luck!

/ Creek taking my yard. #3  
Not sure what the laws are there, but here in SE Michigan all creeks, drains, and most ditchs (I have one in my property) are controlled by the county or some other government body. You might want to check with them to see if there is anything they might do.
We used to live in Colorado and a neighbor had your exact issue. The county wouldnt fix it, but at least they provided the materials. As we know the materials can cost a bundle so it might be worth a call...