Tell me about seeding please..

/ Tell me about seeding please.. #1  

SCRich

Silver Member
Tractor
Kubota L3400 HST
I am kind of new to seeding and am seeing some odd things happening. Maybe someone can shed some light.

I am having problem with grass seed, oats and wheat. I have seeded with winter rye and brown top millett with no trouble.

Along my road frontage we tore out 3 dead trees leaving big open holes that were backfilled. This was about mid/late August, I dropped starter fertilizer then seeded with Kentucky 31 and covered up with a good coating of straw.
It rained 2-3 days after seeding and maybe once a week since then, and about 3 weeks ago it rained for like 2 days in a row and misted for another 2 days. Some seed sprouted but VERY little and what did just sprouted about 4-5 days ago. I don't think any more will germinate so this morning (rained the past 2 days in a row for a bit) I used a small hand cultivator, seeded by hand quite heavy) then steped over the seed to get good contact. Some spots were muddy but not too bad. When should I expect to see this seed sprout, 2weeks ?

I have also planted several food plots for deer over the past month. A mix of winter rye, wheat and oats which I added some brown top millett which I know sprouts fast and will protect from errosion along with hopefully guard the seed from a visual with the birds. Probably a total of 4-5 acres were planted at the same time and they were limed the next day. Some plots got regular white lime with a walk behind spreader while the others I did with pellet lime. One 2 acre plot was boxed and raked and somewhat firm while the others were tilled and quite soft and were not good to walk a spreader on so I did it with an ATV spreader. These plots also got a good rain the following day and got several days of rain over the past month. They have just started to sporut but most of what I see is the millett and some rye, nothing else AND many spots are fully bare.