4x4 Trucks

/ 4x4 Trucks #1  

L_Nicholson

Silver Member
Tractor
1998 JD 4400
I was wondering if anyone had comments on either the Dodge Dakota 4x4 crew cabs or Chevy Colorado 4x4 crew cabs.

I seem to be in the situation where I need to trade in my Corolla (grrrr) for a 4x4 as I work for a power company now and all these storms have things all messed up. My drive is .25 miles from the county road and given these last few snow and ice storms it has become crucial that I get to the office.

The Chevy and the Dodge are the prevalent ones in my area and so I wanted to hear any pros and cons to each of them.

Thanks folks!

Lee

/ 4x4 Trucks #2  
I have no knowledge of those particular vehicles, but have found

Carsurvey.org - Car Reviews

a good resource for reviews of vehicles before buying.

FWIW, I am driving my second Nissan crew cab truck. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend them, based on my experience.

/ 4x4 Trucks #3  
I was wondering if anyone had comments on either the Dodge Dakota 4x4 crew cabs or Chevy Colorado 4x4 crew cabs.
Lee
One thing I don't like about the Chevy Colorado and the GMC Canyon is you can't unlock the passenger side doors with the key on some models.

/ 4x4 Trucks #4  
We bought my step son a 4X4 Dodge Dakota club cab in 2005 and it had been surprisingly reliable. One incident with a timing sensor that required towing (covered by warranty) and no real problems other than that! Like all pickups it needs weight in the winter.

/ 4x4 Trucks #5  
Chevy Colorado 4x4 z71 is the way to go better all round truck and
better size to power ratio than the Dodge Dakota.

/ 4x4 Trucks
I owned a Nissan Crew cab and loved it no doubt but they are few and far between around here.

I drove the Colorado and thought it was nice but I've read a lot about recalls and tons of seals leaking.

I own a 2005 Dodge Durango 4x4 with 40k on and knock on wood, have had no problems.