two bedroom perc site.

/ two bedroom perc site. #1  

mgabriel

I'm new to this thread... We own four acres in middle TN and plan to build in the near future. The land already has an existing 2 bedroom septic system. In our present house we use about 6000 gallons of water per month. In the house we plan to build we are going to include all energy efficient appliances. We are considering installing a Brac system to recycle our water, which should cut down our water use by a third. Here is the issue. We would like to upgrade to a three bedroom septic system but due to the layout of the property it will be pretty expensive. I had a soil scientist come out the other day and he did not give me any cheap options. I feel the measures we are taking to conserve nature痴 resources would justify building a three bedroom house on a two bedroom septic system. TN views each bedroom as using 150 gallons of water per day. If that is the case then our family would be using 9300 gallons a month, which presently is 40% more then we use.
Has anyone been in a similar situation? I don't want to build a house and septic issues but neither do I want to plump down thousands just to upgrade it by one bedroom. I would have to disclose this information if I went to sell the house which might be a big turnoff.

Any suggestions or advice would be appreciated.

Thanks,

/ two bedroom perc site. #2  
We just built out in OR and had a similar issue. We sized the septic for 4 bedrooms, which was the largest the county would allow.

One way around this is to add a den, family room, or storage room instead of another bedroom. The difference is whether or not the room has a closet. If it doesn't, it is not a bedroom. You can always put a wardrobe or two in the room and have some closet space.

The only issue is that for resale you would only be able to list it as 2 BR plus den.

The other potential would be a separate grey water system, which could reduce your septic load considerably.