Electric fencing question

/ Electric fencing question #1  

netwayne

Bronze Member
I am a newbie to electric fencing. We recently attached about 1200ft of wire or braided to the top rail of our wood fencing using a Solar charger from Southern States that is rated for 20 or 25 miles. Charger is fully charged and grounded to a 6.5 ft buried galvanized ground rod. After making all the connections, we turned it on and tested it with one of those cheapie test lights which showed current passing through all areas of the fence. But of course I wanted to know, if it's REALLY working so I grabbed the wire and barely felt anything but did feel the pulsing. Outside of me going barefoot in a wet area and then touching the fence...:p, what is the best way to test to make sure it is up to snuff? I see there are digital voltmeters for electric fencing and some just provide a digital readout for volts and others include some short or fault information. What's recommended?

/ Electric fencing question #2  
You may have had good shoes on and got lucky. I like to take a wood handle hammer and hold part of the head against a steel post and hold a gap about 1/4" to 1/8" away from the wire. You should get a blue/white spark with a loud pop. Make sure your ground rod is very deep and in moist soil. Use insulators for the wire or tape you are using. You can't attach right to the post even if it's wood.

I have used one of the multi light testers you talked about but a hammer tells me more.

Dan

Last edited:
   / Electric fencing question #3  
When you say you attached the wire to the top of the wooden posts, you did use insulators right?

I have one of those digital meters, it gives the voltage readout, the amount of currant passing through as well as the direction (left or right) to any short.

My charger is rated to 100 kilometers, and its energising about 3 miles of gal wire, and about 600ft of poly braid.

I would be lost without the digital tester.

Last edited: