food plots

/ food plots #1  

whistlepig

Elite Member
Tractor
Kubota B7800 with FEL
Just wondering if anyone's food plot worked as well as the first one I ever planted this spring. I planted an acre of Ladino clover this spring inside of 12 acres fenced all around. I kept it mowed to 8" and checked it every week all summer. Nothing. No deer sign at all. I thought I had wasted my time and money. I checked it yesterday and the deer are tearing it up. Deer poop everywhere and trails through the plot. They have eaten the clover down to bare earth in several places. Not sure what the change was. We live in farm country and they have just got done picking the corn and beans. And the rut is on. An eight pointer ran in to the side of the wife's truck last week. $2,200 damage. It caved in the passenger side door so bad it can't be opened.

/ food plots #2  
Good job! Feels good when a plan comes together. I've been doing food plots for several years, and I learn something new about deer habits every season. I plant rye or rape in the fall, buckwheat, sunflowers, beans in the spring. We usually have a chance to kill all we want to fool with each year. Good luck next year.

/ food plots #3  
Hopefully she's OK. That's some expensive deer meat! My daughter hit a yearling doe 1 week after she ran over a curb, $900 for curb damage, $1600 for the doe. Might make sense to park an old car in my food plot and save the hassle of planting seed..:D

/ food plots
She's fine. Thanks for asking. It did scare her. Came running out of the brush in the dark and slammed in to the side of the truck. I hit one in February and it scrunched my front bumper. We thought the deer along the road were pretty neat when we moved out here three years ago. The novelty is wearing off.

/ food plots #5  
Good thing it's a comp claim, the deer probably think it's a collision claim though..:D

Glad shes OK. My daughter cried a little because it was a "baby", I cried a little because my deductible is $500..