Farming Sandy Ground

/ Farming Sandy Ground #1  

GeneD14

Veteran Member
Tractor
Kubota B26, Allis Chalmers D17 series IV and an Allis 170, Kubota ZG-23 Mower, Kubota ZD 1211, Kawasaki Mule 610, 2 Stihl 361's and a Stihl 660 Ported and tuned
I have always managed to live on property that has clay soil. I have a chance to by a property that has very sandy soil. It used to be a melon farm and is partially wooded. It is located in Southern Indiana. The fields have been neglected for years.
My question is: would the open fields grow hay well enough to feed cattle or horses? I have no experience with sandy soil and I don't want to make the wrong decision. Is there anything special that I need to watch out for? Thanks

/ Farming Sandy Ground #2  
Contact the County Extension, or USDA extension for some good help for that area. They are supported by your tax dollars, so you should use their service.
As well, others on the forum may have the information that will help you. :)

/ Farming Sandy Ground #3  
I have always managed to live on property that has clay soil. I have a chance to by a property that has very sandy soil. It used to be a melon farm and is partially wooded. It is located in Southern Indiana. The fields have been neglected for years.
My question is: would the open fields grow hay well enough to feed cattle or horses? I have no experience with sandy soil and I don't want to make the wrong decision. Is there anything special that I need to watch out for? Thanks