Duck Pluckin?

/ Duck Pluckin? #1  

Dobber30052

Bronze Member
Tractor
YM 2210 & Farmall "B"
My wife and I have a little piece of heaven we call Dobber's Pond. Obviously, we have a pond here... Consequently, we got ducks. Then we had more ducks, then a few more. We now have over 30, well 25... read on... As we have chickens for eggs, and goats for some milk, we thought we'd harvest a few of the ducks for the table and freezer. We have several books about raising ducks, and they all pretty much said the same thing about butchering them. I tried the knife/ ice pick through the mouth into the brain thing, no luck; wound up using a hatchet. "Dry plucking is preferred and easier", we wound up scalding them. "A pro" can pluck a duck in 3-4 minutes" - I think I'd pay $100 to see that!!

Now, this is my first attempt at this, and I know we'll get better as we go along, but, do you folks have any tips???

One other specific question, the ducks are Muscovies. Our books stated the best butchering times were between 10-20 weeks, also to buthcer them before they molt, and if after, wait until the feathers are fully in. I think this must have something to do with our lack of speed and feather co-operation. Our guys (and gals) were about 18 weeks. Does anyone have firsthand experience with with an age difference when duck pluckin?

We have another clutch that will be "ready" soon... I'd prefer to take an afternoon rather than a whole day next time!

Dob

PS This is cross posted in "Off Topic & Just for Fun"

/ Duck Pluckin? #2  
See your other posting for a "plucking update".

/ Duck Pluckin? #3