Fire pump/hose to protect rural shop

/ Fire pump/hose to protect rural shop #1  

cmonster11

Seems this forum may be my best chance for some good advice. I've been googling for a while about this without much luck.

I live in a rural area surrounded by wheat fields and I'm a part-time helicopter mechanic in my shop 200' from my house. My neighbor's shop just burned to the ground due to no firefighting capabilities and I am very concerned the same thing could happen to me-that'd be a very expensive problem. I have a private well with 4,000 gal holding tanks. I'd like to install some sort of electric fire pump with about 200' of fire hose so I could hopefully save my shop in the event of a fire.

Any ideas or suggestions on where to look for this sort of set-up? Any help would be fantastic. Thanks!

/ Fire pump/hose to protect rural shop #2  
4000 gal is enough to give you a chance to stop it. If you can't get it with that, well, it was not something you could save.

So here's the grown man solution: Your 200' of hose would likely be either 1.5" or 1.75" (they both use a 1.5" coupler). If the pressure out of the pump was about 130 psi, you'd see a pressure of around 100 psi at the nozzle end if you moved about 100 gallons per minute. This is pretty much the upper limit of what a single person can control, and the 1st time you try to use this (your "training") you will be knocked on your tranny:confused2:. You can throttle back the nozzle for less flow and back pressure on you.

Of course, I'm just looking at "real" firefighting stuff and sizes, but this might give you some ideas. If you got a 150 GPM pump, you'd have the flow you want. Hose is expensive, theright nozzle is in the $1K range.