28 ton vs. 35 ton

/ 28 ton vs. 35 ton #1  

bhostasa

Silver Member
Tractor
Mahindra 2015 HST
Hey guys. I am ready to buy a new log splitter and am looking for some advice.

I split about 12-15 cords per year and currently use an older Brave splitter. It's rated at 20 ton and has done a good job but is finally wearing out.

There's a used Huskee (TSC) 35 ton splitter close to me for about the same price as a new 28 ton. I had been pretty set on getting something with a Honda engine (which the 28 ton has) but the 35 ton has a Briggs & Stratton. Other than that, the cycle time is about 3 seconds faster on the 35 ton.

Is there a big difference between the two engines? Anybody gone from a 28 ton to a 35? Should I be looking at another brand?

I've split a lot with the 20 ton Brave and haven't seen too much that it won't go through. I'm just not sure I need the extra hp.

Any feedback would be appreciated. Thanks!

/ 28 ton vs. 35 ton #2  
I am by NO means an expert & I use a lot less firewood than you. I have a 27 ton Yard Machine with a Honda engine. I've split some pretty large oak & it has never balked. I've had to replace a shear pin or two on the wedge, but no problems with power. The Honda starts 1st or 2nd pull each time.

Jack

/ 28 ton vs. 35 ton #3  
the only way i would justify the larger tonage is to move to a 4/6/10 way splitting wedge.

If you have no intention of do so, then i wouldnt spend the money on the larger version.

btw what is 'wearing out" the pump has gotten slow? the engine is hard to start?

Id seriously consider rebuilding the current one i have into a better one for half the cost of a new one....

/ 28 ton vs. 35 ton #4  
the only way i would justify the larger tonage is to move to a 4/6/10 way splitting wedge.

If you have no intention of do so, then i wouldnt spend the money on the larger version.

QUOTE]

I agree

/ 28 ton vs. 35 ton #5