Cost Plus Home Building

/ Cost Plus Home Building #1  

jedens

Bronze Member
Tractor
Kubota 4610
I'm looking into building a home on our 35 acres in southern Colorado. I've found a builder/general contractor that I like. He does his work on a cost plus basis. He basically charges a 15% margin on all materials and labor as his contractor fee. He has crews that do the finish carpentry and painting and he subcontracts everything else. He has indicated that I can do some of the work myself if we can agree on items that won't hold up the progress or delay any crews. That's ok with me since I'm not experienced and will essentially be a laborer on the job. What things should I watch out for in signing a cost plus contract? Is 15% margin reasonable? What requirements should I place on him, such as insurance, being bonded?? What is customary as a holdback payment to finish punch-list items at the end of the project? Any advice or experiences are welcomed!
Joe

/ Cost Plus Home Building #2  
We're close to being finished building our house using a cost plus arrangement. Ours is slightly different though. The builders take (10%) was based on the original quote. Any deviations from that (there have been a few but less than 5% so far) we pay or get credit. No change to the builders commission. We've been very happy with the arrangement but I think your comfort with the builder is more important than anything else. We would have been equally happy with a conventional program with this builder /w3tcompact/icons/smile.gif

/ Cost Plus Home Building #3  
I agree with Rob. Your comfort level with the builder is of prime importance.

I'm doing a large project based upon cost of materials and labor for a customer now. I went into the project because of the challenges presented by the job.

We're still friends but there is conflict between his concern for costs and my concern for product.

But that is the nature of the beast, right?

/ Cost Plus Home Building #4