Stump Grinder (Vermeer SC130)

/ Stump Grinder (Vermeer SC130) #1  

legbuh

Silver Member
Hey all!

I have been clearing my lot of overgrown trees and shrubs for a few years and would like to tackle some stumps.

I found a Vermeer SC130 walk behind on CL for about 2k. It's about 3 years old and in "great" shape.

From all the reading I've been doing on them, they seem to work ok for smaller stuff, but give you a workout when using. I'm not opposed to that, but I also don't want to get done with 5 stumps and tire out.

Anyone have any practical experience with this machine? There are a couple others for about the same price.. a bluebird and a dosko. Similar setup with a 13hp motor. But I can't find anything on those lines.

I have found this vermeer is really just a rebranded praxis model, though. But I've never had problems with honda motors (which it has).

I'd say I have in total about 50-80 stumps right now to grind. Mostly in the 8-10" range. I have a couple larger ones too. They're all about 2-3 years old and only a couple inches above ground.

Thanks for any insight.

PS, I don't want to rent... I'd rather buy since I can then do it at my lesiure and I will have more come fall when I start felling more trees/overgrown shrubs.

/ Stump Grinder (Vermeer SC130) #2  
I THINK, because i haven't directly used this grinder that it will do well. Now 8-10 inches are easy stumps IMO, when I have rented grinders, it has been for 2' stumps. I think that it MAY wear you out anyway, wrestling them things around isn't easy; but it the best option. I would LOVE to have that unit. Like having a small chainsaw, not something you want for the bigstuff, but will do fine on the little stuff.

/ Stump Grinder (Vermeer SC130) #3