Wooden plow beam for an antique plow

/ Wooden plow beam for an antique plow #1  

SARG

Platinum Member
Tractor
NH T1030- NH T1530 - 49G Brockway
Would anyone know who might fabricate a couple plow beams ( item b in the picture ) for some plows I am restoring.

( Tried Farmer Brown's & they are apparently too busy. )

/ Wooden plow beam for an antique plow #2  
I'd try some Amish woodworking mills (sawmill, blacksmith, or wagon shop) near you.

If you have a pattern, or parts to work from, any woodworker could do it.
Probably want to match the wood and condition to the handles for a good restoration.

/ Wooden plow beam for an antique plow #4  
there might be a How To in the foxfire book series. looks like a lot of draw knife work, unless you have a band saw then it shouldnt be too hard.

/ Wooden plow beam for an antique plow #5  
I have got woodworking tools and enjoy working with wood. My dad is a carpenter by trade and has made one plow beam for a plow we had years ago. I live in buffalo NY. If you can't find someone to do it, I could do it. If you are interested, you could send me a private message.
Tucker

/ Wooden plow beam for an antique plow #6  
Would anyone know who might fabricate a couple plow beams ( item b in the picture ) for some plows I am restoring.

( Tried Farmer Brown's & they are apparently too busy. )

on a woodworking scale its about a 1 chisel project.

the hardest part is going to be sourcing the right material. You likely need a hardwood like oak or better yet ash or hickory. but in 2x thickness. Your not going to find that anywhere but wood dealer or a local saw mill.

once you have the material it would take about 20 min to fab up. simple cut on the bandsaw and a few holes.

/ Wooden plow beam for an antique plow #7  
A laminated wood beam could also be made.:thumbsup:

/ Wooden plow beam for an antique plow