How to defrost a freezer quickly

/ How to defrost a freezer quickly #1  

Pilot

Veteran Member
Tractor
JD 770, Yanmar 180D, JD 420 (not running), had a Kubota B6200
While defrosting our freezer today, it occurred to me that many folks probably still use the hot water in the pot method. There is a faster, easier way that I have been doing for several years.

Once all the food is removed, set up a fan outside the freezer and blow room air into it. I used a box fan sitting on a stool to get it up high, where the frost is thickest.

Today the temp in the garage where we have our freezer was about 70 degrees. The 18 cu. ft. freezer had about 1.5 inches of ice in places on the top shelf and a little thicker on the underside of the top of the freezer, the thickest areas. From the time I set the fan until all the ice was melted took about 35 minutes. I started with the fan sitting about 16 inches off the floor, but most of the air went into the bottom. About half way thru the job I put it on a stool where it would blow closer to the thickest ice.

Of course it would have defrosted faster on a warmer day.

The faster you get the ice out of there, the sooner you can put the food back in and the less the chance of the food defrosting.

/ How to defrost a freezer quickly #2  
Just buy a 'Frost Free"

/ How to defrost a freezer quickly #3  
While defrosting our freezer today, it occurred to me that many folks probably still use the hot water in the pot method. There is a faster, easier way that I have been doing for several years.

Once all the food is removed, set up a fan outside the freezer and blow room air into it. I used a box fan sitting on a stool to get it up high, where the frost is thickest.