"Farming" suggestions for 20+ acres

/ "Farming" suggestions for 20+ acres #1  

Builder

East PA or 750 mi. east of a short man named Dar__
Tractor
Kubota, AGCO, New Holland LB
I have a wealthy but cost concious customer. He has 20 acres of what I would call combined flat & rolling land consisting of weeds & grass on the sides & back of his property. I currenty cut this land at about $1,500/cut 3 times per year.

Because of significant tax savings offered in PA, he would like to put it into some kind of agricultural useage. If he does, I will lose a valuable cutting customer. I am tossing around the idea of farming this property for him. He is also game for suggestions.

I have no idea (other than hay) what to plant that is relatively easy to grow off of it. I'm not a professional farmer, but am a rural boy with common sense and the ability to learn. Last I checked, the requirement in PA for act 319/515 tax exemption was a mere $1,600 profit shown as a receipt in agricultural profit.

Any suggestions as to what I can offer him? I'd really prefer not to refer him to other local farmers because I can't afford to lose any customers, but I also want to be responsible with his land. I'm looking at this as an opportunity to possibly learn a new trade.

/ "Farming" suggestions for 20+ acres #2  
Start with the local county extension agent. They can help you determine which crops are suited to the soil type, the amount of yield you can expect from the chosen crop, the best practices for producing that crop and a history of the prices associated with producing that crop. On top of that, their services are free! :thumbsup:

Good luck on your new adventure. :)

/ "Farming" suggestions for 20+ acres #3  
Mossroad gave you a wonderful suggestion. They're certainly in a great position to take a lot of the guess-work out for you.

/ "Farming" suggestions for 20+ acres #4  
Take a while but christmas tree farm, or a u pick orchard like blueberrys might do well.