Best Material for Shop (wood or metal?)

/ Best Material for Shop (wood or metal?) #1  

centex

Gold Member
Tractor
JD 4700
I need to build a workshop about 30'x40'. In doing some cost estimates it looks like the cost would be about the same for a wood structure and a metal building (e.g., Metal Mart). I have no experience with metal building so would like to get some feedback on the advantages and disadvantages of them. In this part of the country it does not get cold and does not snow although there are infrequent ice storms that can cause lots of problems with trees but it does not get thick enough to cause loading problems on roofs. I just put up a metal carport and I have to say that it was much harder work to get screw holes to line up and to drive the self drilling screws than it would have been to cut and nail together a wooden carport. I would appreciate any feedback on anyones experiences putting up a larger metal building. I will be doing all the work single handed.

/ Best Material for Shop (wood or metal?) #2  
If you are considering both wood and metal, have you considered a pole barn? The research I have done says that you can have a pretty good quality pole barn fully installed for less than the cost of materials alone for a Metal Mart building. BCI Barn Builders and National Barn Co. both build in Texas. Some things, like hanging the trusses or rafters, etc., will be hard for one man to do alone.

/ Best Material for Shop (wood or metal?) #3  
I got a quonset hut structure for my garage and consider it a big mistake. Despite what they say, it did not go up in a couple of days: my brother and I spent over a week all told and over six months. What a disaster. Then, for the first time in my life I ended up actually paying somebody to do something I though I could do myself.