High Tension power lines

/ High Tension power lines #1  

weesa20

Silver Member
Looking at a piece of property that can be had for a steal (2-2500/acre) which is cheap around me (land usually starts at around 10k/acre)...problem is 1) unknown perk status (would be tested before closing and if no perk-no deal) 2) high tension power lines and easment run through proprty and take up about 1/4 of the land. I know folks on the other ends of the property with the same easment hay under the power lines or use it as a pasture, just not sure if it is a good idea or not. any thoughts or experience with this type of situation. If we build the house would be as far away from the lines as possible.

Thanks for any input.

Weesy

Attachments

• power line image.jpg
    power line image.jpg
    168.6 KB · Views: 631
   / High Tension power lines #2  
I'm no expert, but from my understanding, those high voltage lines put out an electromagnetic field that supposedly has been linked to some cancers in people, and breeding problems etc in livestock.
On the other hand, I know people around here that have similar property, that I hay for them and they haven't had any problems. I guess it might be worth some research in the medical and veterinary fields.

/ High Tension power lines #3  
Many factors to consider around lines...What level are they transmitting?(not all the same) What is the future expansion? How old are they? What company owns the management agreement? Is a "buffer zone" specified? If so, how big?
There is a lot if good and bad information out there...I would hire an attorney that is knowledgeable in the area to look over the existing agreement and any provisions for automatic "amendments" that are in place right now before I made an offer on the land.

/ High Tension power lines #4