Good morning!!!!

/ Good morning!!!! #5,521  
David

Glad you are ok!!!. They are lightweight (mesh), cheap and most important....obnoxiously bright, complete with reflective tape for night rides. :)

Dean,

I was a motorcycle safety/riding instructor from 1998 through 2006. I have a vest (I was not wearing it though) and the jacket yesterday was a light gray. He simply did not look down. He was target fixated on the car in front of me and in a hurry to "get his spot". My personal observation is local commuter bus drivers are not the most polite drivers on the road. I have had thoughts about "loud pipes save lives" and my retroreflective bright riding vest since the incident. I believe 2 things. 1 - My number was not up. 2 - He was not looking.

I hope you do get a bike, I LOVE riding.

David

/ Good morning!!!! #5,522  
David, I had a big bike in town also for about a year, too many near misses, road debris, pot holes, blind drivers, just an accident waiting to happen. I would think It would be better on the wide open roads in the country but in the last two years I have lost a friend and a relative on their Harleys. One hit a pig the other split a deer in half. Both suffered head damage even with helmets. I would say be careful, but I already know you are, it's just there are so many hazards outside your control.

Don,

I know what you are saying, and while I cannot dissagree, I cannot stop riding either.

I am planning to buy an econobox for my commuting sometime in the next couple months.The odds are rough in this region with an 80-84 miles each way commute. There is always SOMETHING in traffic to deal with.

As an instructor for so many years I'm fully aware of all the risks, an all of the strategies to mitigate them.

I consider this was literally just a nudge, in the right direction.
I also consider myself Blessed far beyond my worth.