Outdoor Wood Burners

/ Outdoor Wood Burners #1  

Chad2660

Tractor
Kubota BX2660
Does anyone have any experience with outdoor wood burners? We have a fairly small home (approx. 1,900Sq/Ft) and we are currently all electic. I have no experience with this and I'm wondering if investing in an outdoor wood burner would be a good option for us to cut our heating bills. The cheapest units appear to be about $3,000-$4,000, and I'd like to know if anyone could tell me their experience with these units.

Can anyone provide an estimate of how long it would take to get a return on the investment. I dont have access to cut my own wood so I'll need to purchase the wood as well. Also, how often do you need to re-load these with wood? Thanks in advance.

/ Outdoor Wood Burners #2  
Jump over to hearth.com It's a good forum for wood burning. You'll find that there are lots of ways to scroung free wood. You should look for a "Gassification" type wood boiler. They are much more efficent (less wood) and don't spew the nasty smoke that are slowly making the non "gassers" illegal. Do your homework and reasearch, it will pay off and you will not just cut your heating bills, you'll mostly eliminate them, particularly if you don't have to pay for your wood. It is a commitment (cutting, splitting, stacking and feeding) but It's good honest work that will keep you fit in body and soul, and somehow it provides a special warmth knowing that YOU made this heat! Just like a eating veggie's out of your garden.
If your heating with elec. now, your installation will require more than just your wood boiler.You'll need a way to distribute the heat thru baseboards or radiant tubing. If your elec, is forced hot air, you could add a "coil" and that will use your existing ductwork.

/ Outdoor Wood Burners #3