How much does this pig weigh?

/ How much does this pig weigh? #1  

tallyho8

Elite Member
Who Dat Nation west of Westwego east of Ama south
Tractor
Kubota L4400, Kubota ZD326
I have no experience with pigs and so I don't have any idea about how much this one might weigh.

More and more animals are being run out of the swamps as they rebuild the levees in our area. First it was deer and then coyote and now pigs.

My neighbor is an excellent wild game cook so I am looking forward to a cochon de lait soon.

Attachments

• pig1.jpg
    pig1.jpg
    115 KB · Views: 547
   / How much does this pig weigh? #2  
[FONT=Arial, Verdana]
Kansas State University swine researchers recently completed a study to develop a regression equation to determine pig weight based on heart girth, and to validate its accuracy. Heart girth and body weight were measured for 100 growing-finishing pigs (50 to 273 lb.) at the K-State Swine Teaching and Research Center. Heart girth was measured in inches using a cloth measuring tape. The tape was placed directly behind the front legs, wrapped snugly around the heart girth and read directly behind the shoulders.

Heart girth was strongly correlated (r2= .98) with body weight, with the regression equation: pig weight = 10.1709 x Heart girth (inches) 205.7492. The 95 percent confidence interval shows the projected weight to be ア 10 pounds of the actual weight of the pig.

There are a few problems that may occur when measuring heart girth on pigs. Pigs often squirm or raise and lower their heads, which can cause variations in the measurement. A confined pig is easiest to measure with the cloth tape. We suggest taking three separate heart girth measurements and using the average. Misreading the heart girth measurement by 1 inch will result in a 10-pound error in weight. Averaging three measurements should more accurately represent true girth measurement.

So get out there with your tape measure.....:laughing::laughing::laughing: and measure that pig!!