What costs more? 1-story w/ double the concrete & roof, or 2-story w/ joists?

/ What costs more? 1-story w/ double the concrete & roof, or 2-story w/ joists? #1  

beppington

Elite Member
Tractor
Here
Trying to decide between a 1-story & 2.

For the same size house, which costs more?

It would be a monolithic concrete slab.

Maybe there's not enough difference to say? Or maybe there are more factors you'd need to know - Ask away.

Tks!

/ What costs more? 1-story w/ double the concrete & roof, or 2-story w/ joists? #2  
Trying to decide between a 1-story & 2.

For the same size house, which costs more?

It would be a monolithic concrete slab.

Maybe there's not enough difference to say? Or maybe there are more factors you'd need to know - Ask away.

Tks!

I am not an expert and have no facts to back it up, but I'd say the single story probabally costs a little more per square foot.

More roofing material, More concrete, More excavating(if digging a basement).

A 2-story isnt really going to add anymore flooring or floor joists. Because square footage is going to be the same. Think of it as cutting your single story in half and stacking it ontop of itself. Really no more flooring, but a lot less roofing and base concrete.

But for the two-story it might cost a little more for plumbing, wiring, and hvac.

Just guessing here. Have youi got any quotes??

/ What costs more? 1-story w/ double the concrete & roof, or 2-story w/ joists? #3  
My question is which do you prefer? A house, regardless of whether you buy or build, is a major investment and you will probably be stuck there for some time. Personally, I wouldn't want to buy a house and say to myself that I wish I'd have built the single/multi story because I hate what I did build. Build what suits you but is within your budget. :2cents: