CBS NEWS story "Grass linked to Texas cattle deaths"

/ CBS NEWS story "Grass linked to Texas cattle deaths" #1  

UncleBuck01

Silver Member
Tractor
Mahindra 4110
I have no first hand knowledge, just read the news story and decided to pass it on !!!!
"Tifton 85 grass, which has been here for years, had suddenly started producing cyanide gas, poisoning the cattle." Here is the
link
Grass linked to Texas cattle deaths - CBS News

/ CBS NEWS story "Grass linked to Texas cattle deaths" #2  
In reading the comments, this story was apparently poorly reported and rife with non-facts. The suspected cause of the cattle deaths was prussic acid poisoning.Prussic Acid Poisoning Apparently, the reporter had no clue. Surprising, huh? Of course the Neo-Luddites are quick to pounce upon supposedly "genetically modified" grass as the culprit.

/ CBS NEWS story "Grass linked to Texas cattle deaths" #3  
I'm not sure that I understand the point you are making. Cyanide gas and Prussic acid are one and the same...Hydrogen Cyanide (HCN). While I was aware that some plants produce it in quantities high enough to kill animals (green almonds are reputed to kill birds under certain conditions), I was not aware that grass was ever a culprit.

/ CBS NEWS story "Grass linked to Texas cattle deaths" #4  
Facts don't matter to the drive-by media, just the story. NBC is a prime example.:jester:

/ CBS NEWS story "Grass linked to Texas cattle deaths" #5  
Prussic acid is something dad talked about in the 1930's.

The fella had a field of Tifton - it's a hybred (NOT a gmo, fer crying out loud!!!!) with one of the parent plants known for prussic acid concerns.

So he had a drought, he fertilized the grass, the drought finally ended with 5 inches of rain, the grass grew like gangbusters, and he turned his hungry cows into the fresh lush grass.

Could there _BE_ a more perfect setup for prussic acid, a well known, for centuries problem?????