Quick high-tensile fence repair

/ Quick high-tensile fence repair #1  

RobA

Platinum Member
Tractor
Kubota L5030 HST
My neighbor's high-tensile fence broke in 2 spots along my driveway. The breaks are far away from their house and I am sure they don't even know about it. The have cattle but are never near this section of fence. I wouldn't mind fixing it for them but I have no experience with something like this. Any thoughts on how I can splice the broken wires together? Do they make kits for this?

/ Quick high-tensile fence repair #2  
You can splice a piece in using a little joiner called a gripple

/ Quick high-tensile fence repair #3  
At Tractor Supply, they have these devices...Popular Searches at Tractor Supply Co.

The ratchets also tighten the fence, assuming you have sufficient slack (maybe 2 inches) initially to get it started.
The crimping sleeves require two tools, something to tighten the fence while you install the sleeve and a tool to smash the sleeve tight on the wire...a tool is sold for this purpose, but you might be able to use a pair of vice grips for the few you need to do.

Why not call the owners and let them fix it.??

There also are special wire knots you can use to splice high tensile wire but they require tightening the line after a splice is inserted. So you need a section of high tensile wire and a strainer.

Note, high tensile wire is exceptionally difficult to bend if you are unfamiliar with how to do it and make a splice but the items at Tractor Supply make it reasonably simple.

/ Quick high-tensile fence repair
Why not call the owners and let them fix it.??
I figured if it was cheap and easy to fix I would just do a good deed.

I think there are 2 wires broken and each has a nearby ratchet-type tightener.

/ Quick high-tensile fence repair #5