Growing Peaches in Alabama

/ Growing Peaches in Alabama #1  

yellowyj

Tractor
Kubota L3010 HST
I bought a new house last fall and I have four peach trees, a pear tree, a cherry tree, an apple tree, and some pecan trees in the yard. None of them have been taken care of properly. I stuck it out this year so I could identify what types of trees I have. Now I need to know what to do with them. They all produced fruit this year, but it was all ruined by bugs, fungus or rotting. I am new to the fruit tree scene, so any advice would be helpful. I have not yet determined what specific types of each tree I have. I am located in Northern/Central Alabama in Western Blounty County.

Any help would be appreciated. I am really interested in the peaches. They are our favorite fruit!

/ Growing Peaches in Alabama #2  
I sure hope someone with some experience will offer advice to your question. We just bought a place in W. Georgia that has some apple and pear trees that need help. I'll keep watching, there is always someone here with good advice.

MarkV

/ Growing Peaches in Alabama #3  
We have 2 peach trees (our favorite fruit also). The hardest thing for me is knocking off enough peaches when they first start to form too insure they develop to a good size. I prefer large juicy peaches not small ones and the tree can only develop a certin quantity of peaches to their fullest potential.

Our biggest problem is the darn birds. I built PVC pipe frames that I support with rebar and suspend netting over the trees to keep them away from my crop. Easy to set up when they start getting close to ripe and remove after the last one is picked.