apple trees

/ apple trees #1  

rodsauder

Bronze Member
Tractor
Mitsubishi Kubota
Hi, New to the site. I have just purchased a small acreage property. I would like to plant some apple trees. I am 1 hour east of Toronto and the soil is sandy ,with gravel. I have a running stream close by and have a 1000 gal water tank that I was planning on filling from stream to help with irrigation ( gravity ) I am asking for any input.. What is recommended for type,( macintosh,spy etc? ) I have no experience but finally have enough land to plant some trees. I am also interested in possibly pear,plum or whatever other suggestions I get. When is the best time to plant seedlings etc. Thanks .

/ apple trees #3  
Hi, New to the site. I have just purchased a small acreage property. I would like to plant some apple trees. I am 1 hour east of Toronto and the soil is sandy ,with gravel. I have a running stream close by and have a 1000 gal water tank that I was planning on filling from stream to help with irrigation ( gravity ) I am asking for any input.. What is recommended for type,( macintosh,spy etc? ) I have no experience but finally have enough land to plant some trees. I am also interested in possibly pear,plum or whatever other suggestions I get. When is the best time to plant seedlings etc. Thanks .

Not a pro by anymeans...and not anywhere near your area, but what are you calling "seedlings?" I would find a local nursery and buy some grafted trees that are already a few years old to plant.

Also, we planted ours this past year in the winter when plants were dormant. They were container grown and could have been planted whenever, but winter time requires a little less maintenance as there are no leaves on the trees at this point so watering is not as necessary.

/ apple trees #4