Newbie here! Just closed on 80 acres. Question about land clearing...

/ Newbie here! Just closed on 80 acres. Question about land clearing... #1  

mdjohn1427

Tractor
Mahindra 5010 HST Cab
Just closed on 80 acres. Timber company will be showing up in the next few weeks to harvest about 45 acres of Timber. After that, I hope to clear that land (in stages) and turn it into pasture/farm land. Suggestions are welcome on how this might be best accomplished. What type equipment do you use?

/ Newbie here! Just closed on 80 acres. Question about land clearing... #2  
Are they leaving all the stumps and slash?

Just curious, are you using a consulting forester?

/ Newbie here! Just closed on 80 acres. Question about land clearing... #3  
Check with your tax person. You may need to wait a year in order to take it on capital gains rate and not ordinary income rate.

And - congratulations, welcome aboard!

/ Newbie here! Just closed on 80 acres. Question about land clearing... #4  
Congratulations on the purchase!! I think 1st piece of equipment should be a tractor:laughing: I know you're looking, but it will be invaluable to maintaining your new place.

/ Newbie here! Just closed on 80 acres. Question about land clearing... #5  
Congratulations

/ Newbie here! Just closed on 80 acres. Question about land clearing...
Are they leaving all the stumps and slash?

Just curious, are you using a consulting forester?

Piston, I'm working witha family friend who is a Timber Broker. I'm assuming that the stumps will be remaining.

Check with your tax person. You may need to wait a year in order to take it on capital gains rate and not ordinary income rate.

And - congratulations, welcome aboard!

Hadn't considered the Tax implications. I'll reach out to my Tax man for advice.

Congratulations on the purchase!! I think 1st piece of equipment should be a tractor:laughing: I know you're looking, but it will be invaluable to maintaining your new place.