Need garage revolver

/ Need garage revolver #1  

RSKY

Veteran Member
Kentucky, West of the Lakes, South of Possum Trot.
Tractor
Kioti CK20S
Several people in our county have come home to find an intruder inside. This has happened day and night. I am looking for an inexpensive, reliable, no frills 38 revolver to put in a hidden lockbox in the garage or utility room. We generally come in the house thru the locked garage, then walk thru an unlocked door into the utility room, around a corner and up two steps to the main house. The pistol will most likely sit in the lockbox for six months to a year at a time. I see no need to go for a top dollar, bells and whistles firearm. I have that elsewhere.

I do not like the idea of buying a used firearm for self defense use. You never know what kind of abuse it has been subjected to. On the other hand I know little about the cheaper revolvers available.

If I buy new it will have to be a Charter Arms, Rossi, Taurus, or EAA. I have no experience with any of these. It must be a revolver so my wife can also use it.

Any advice would be appreciated.

Convince me!!

RSKY

/ Need garage revolver #2  
Smith and Wesson model 64 (38 special) or 65 (.357 mag.).. Stainless. so less chance of rust out in the non humidity controlled enviorment. Cheap, thousands of them were in use by police officers and turned in when the "wonder nine" conversion happened in the 90's. Built like tanks.. always work. Ruger GP100 also would be good. Any of those or similar would be good choices. Fire the ammo out of them once a year and get new put in just to make sure no corrosion forms.

/ Need garage revolver #3  
Might think about a 20ga mossberg defender instead, easier to use in a situation, loaded with your choice of ammo. Sorry to hear that you need to think about having something.

/ Need garage revolver #4