Weather forcing people to move?

/ Weather forcing people to move? #1  

300UGUY

Tractor
Kubota L3400, Farmall H
We have had 2 pretty stiff winters here in Michigan, and most of the north. I had 2 neighbor's move into town last year, they both bought condos. The winter was really the last straw for them, they just could not handle it anymore. And I have several friends that are talking about moving to Florida. Do you think there is going to be a big increase in folks moving south?

/ Weather forcing people to move? #2  
We've been in Vermont for a little over 2 years now...I just got hired full time at the company I've been working at (as a contractor) for the last several months. But we're looking at North Carolina and I've already applied for several jobs down there.
I love winter...always enjoyed clearing snow...but the winters in Vermont are getting tough to handle. That, and the outrageous cost of living here...just too much.

However, I don't actually think we'll move

/ Weather forcing people to move? #3  
Do you think there is going to be a big increase in folks moving south?

As long as they only stop in Alabama and buy gas, groceries and keep on moving, great!

lol, seriously, living here and driving up and down Interstate 65 weekly, I see so many tags from Michigan, Ontario, Quebec, etc, of the snowbirds this time of the year as they all begin to head back north. The southward migration runs usually in November, with another wave right after Christmas for the latecomers who have the holidays with family and return south after Christmas.

/ Weather forcing people to move? #4  
As long as they only stop in Alabama and buy gas, groceries and keep on moving, great!