Storm scare....I need some thoughts/opinions

/ Storm scare....I need some thoughts/opinions #1  

General Lee

Veteran Member
Tractor
Kubota, L4400, BX1870
Hey everyone.... Strong thunderstorm just came through with heavy lightening and tornado warnings etc. Took shelter in the basement and during the height of the storm I started hearing some electrical "ticks" or sparks overhead along the steel beam. Shortly after a good lightening strike hit nearby and sparks flew from where my duct work ends and meets the block wall. There is fiberglass insulation on the wall and goes around the duct work. The insulation is backed with aluminum which is in contact with the duct work to some degree.

From what I can tell lightening did not strike the house but it was close. I'm thinking the electrical current came through the ground and the house acted as the ground and the duct work caused the short?? I'm not an expert in this area. What are your thoughts.

I've been monitoring everything and checking the attic for fire. Its been about an hour since all this has happened. Everything still works and no breakers were tripped.

Anything else I should check for and what do you all think happened? I know electricity can do some strange things but this is making me nervous.

/ Storm scare....I need some thoughts/opinions #2  
Hey everyone.... Strong thunderstorm just came through with heavy lightening and tornado warnings etc. Took shelter in the basement and during the height of the storm I started hearing some electrical "ticks" or sparks overhead along the steel beam. Shortly after a good lightening strike hit nearby and sparks flew from where my duct work ends and meets the block wall. There is fiberglass insulation on the wall and goes around the duct work. The insulation is backed with aluminum which is in contact with the duct work to some degree.