How do YOU feel about downsizing and moving away from your country estate?

/ How do YOU feel about downsizing and moving away from your country estate? #1  

Retiredguy2

Gold Member
Tractor
Deere 4410
Age 65 here, recently retired and just began collecting Social Security. First wife passed away two years ago and I am recently remarried, have no kids and the new spouse has 3, and none of the kids have the slightest interest in taking over our homestead when we move in the not so distant future. I have lived on a fair sized property since 1987 and have put hundreds of thousands of hours of sweat equity into it and probably over a half million bucks into paying for and upgrading and maintaining the place. Yet despite all that, we are planning to move closer to town and downsize our home. Not really sure if I will ever recoup all the labor and bucks I put into this place, but...I guess I should have thought of that a long time ago.

Being a newbie here, I am wondering if any others are in the same boat...how are you feeling about being in the situation I am describing? I guess the good news is: They just opened a retirement community about 4 miles distant from us. We drive by it a few times a week...and darn...it is getting difficult to think we may be relocating there down the road. (pun intended here).

/ How do YOU feel about downsizing and moving away from your country estate? #2