What size wood stove?

/ What size wood stove? #1  

WoodChuckDad

Elite Member
Tractor
Kioti RX7320 Power Shuttle Cab, Komatsu PC130-6
I'm having trouble sizing the wood stove for my new construction house that I am about to build. I am not using conventional construction, but also nothing revolutionary. This is going to be a post and beam SIPS house on a cement slab with cement floors and hydronic radiant heat in the floors. The wood stove will not actually be "needed" under most conditions, but I have been burning wood for 15 years and love it, and I also want an emergency heat source. Screen Shot 2016-07-10 at 9.31.22 AM.png
The main room will be 22x40 and have hi ceilings that slope from 9 feet to 16 feet. In the main room there is more glass than wall in both the front of the house and the back. So I am going in constant opposite directions on efficiency. Sips construction with great R values and lots of glass which significantly lowers the R values. Radiant heat from the floors but a high ceiling which creates a larger pocket to heat when using a wood stove. We like the look of some of the more contemporary round stoves, but they are all built for smaller spaces. We were also told by one of the sales reps at the wood stove place here Charlottesville va that we should probably stay away from a soap stone stove because it gives a softer heat and we would loose that with the high ceilings. They recommended something steel or cast iron. I'm throwing this out to TBN'rs to weigh in on because I figure this group has a broad spectrum of experiences that will help.

/ What size wood stove? #2  
If it's for emergency heat I'd get the biggest steel stove I could find. You can always have a small fire in a big stove, much harder to have a big fire in a small stove. Sometimes during the winter we cook tinfoil dinners in our stove just for the fun of it. I've even roasted hot dogs.

/ What size wood stove? #3