Tomatoes

/ Tomatoes #1  

OldMcDonald

Platinum Member
Tractor
None
I have little experience with outdoor tomatoes, basically a few plants in the garden for the last 12 years. Most years we have had problems keeping a regualr water supply to them due to other demands on time and available water, but this year I have been able to irrigate right through the typical Mediterranean area summer of no rain. I do not measure the quantity applied, but go on the basis of having moisture not more than an inch below the surface, otherwise I give them a top-up. It is usually needed every second or third day. I have a lot of experience of irrigating agricultural crops and seem to get it more or less right.

Everything in the garden has cropped very well but the tomatoes show their usual problem of cracking well before they are ripe. In past years I put it down to irregular watering, but that is not the case this year. I have certain varieties that I like and have bought the seed from the UK every couple of years. These are all varieties that are greenhouse grown in the UK and I wondered if that was the problem - they are not suited to outdoor growing and direct intense sunshine.

Any observations greatly appreciated.

/ Tomatoes #2  
Yes, watering is the cause of the cracking. Rapid uptake of water causes the fruit to swell and the skin to split. When you plant, dig very deeply below the plant and add soil amendments, then deep water less frequently, only watering when the leaves show water stress.

/ Tomatoes
Thanks to you both, but, as I outlined in the OP I am reasonably sure that water is not the problem this year. The soil is deep and high in organic matter, the plants have never been so dry that water uptake would be rapid, not have they been overwatered.

As I said, my theory is unsuitable varieities for outdoor growing, but I cannot ask in the UK because people simply do not grow tomatoes outdoors due to low temperatures and lack of sunshine.

/ Tomatoes #5