Teach me about running a single hot wire for cattle

/ Teach me about running a single hot wire for cattle #1  

petebert

Silver Member
Tractor
I've been using electric net fencing for a few years for my sheep. I've also used it with the cows with no problems. I'm going to put the cows out on a field without the sheep in the next couple of weeks. Started planning it out in my head and thought it'd be way easier to just run a single hot wire. The net fencing takes a few hours to setup. You have to pre-measure and mark everything out, then come back with your mower to make a path for the fencing, then you string it all and hope your measurements are correct. Running a single line seems like it would take no time at all.

I'm guessing I want to go with t-posts? Does it matter how far I sink them if they aren't going to be permanent? Deer do run through this field, will that be a problem? Not uncommon for them to knock down by net fencing back there. How much spacing do I put between the posts?

/ Teach me about running a single hot wire for cattle #2  
I assume you have another exterior fence as one strand is not sufficient. On the 1 wire a ratchet and poly or fiberglass post are ok for temp runs just need good wood post corners if your planning on getting it tight .

/ Teach me about running a single hot wire for cattle
No, will they break lose? Will I have to stick with the electric net?

/ Teach me about running a single hot wire for cattle #4  
cattle and fencing = just do not mix. they will run it down no matter what, the grass is greener on the other side always. bulls more so.

if they do not see it and zap themselves, they may go right on through it.

if they are not use to it, they will test it, till it clicks they get zapped.

1/2" to 3/4" re-enforcement rod for say concrete. can be rather cheap. along with the plastic connectors for them and the electrical wire.