Best Brand of Fireplace Insert or Wood Stove

/ Best Brand of Fireplace Insert or Wood Stove #1  

TomSeller

Tractor
JD, Massey, Kubota, Case
I am in the market for a replacement fireplace insert for one of my houses and am curious of what you think a good brand is. I suspect better wood stove brands also make the better inserts? I am looking at burning firewood not gas or pellets. House is 3000 sq ft. I found a few insert threads when searching but not many.

/ Best Brand of Fireplace Insert or Wood Stove #2  
Because of size they are somewhat regional- at least the American/Canadian made stuff. We live in the PNW and Pacific Energy has nice stuff. They also have a series with more modern lines that we spec in houses with that type of look.

Weight, having key parts made of stainless and warranty all factor. A company with a long history is nice too.

Lopi and Vermont Casting have been around a long time. But, beyond the name, I have little actual experience with those.

Pacific Energy :: Neo 2.5

Pacific Energy :: Summit

Last edited:
   / Best Brand of Fireplace Insert or Wood Stove #3  
Don't know where you live so can't advise on brand of inserts, but a house that size will take maybe a $4000 airtite insert and then the pipe plus fresh air intake.
Make sure you get one with a large firebox with standard firebrick so they are easily replaced and so you can stoke it up. If it doesn't weigh 500-600# at least I wouldn't get it.

/ Best Brand of Fireplace Insert or Wood Stove #4  
If you were talking woodstoves i would say Blaze King-
but don't think they make a sized insert for that sq foot house. They do make a Princess insert with a 27 hour low burn time- but it is not rated for a 3000 sqf house

/ Best Brand of Fireplace Insert or Wood Stove #5  
I have a buck stove insert. Been pretty impressed with it. Insert has been nicknamed Satan :) stove is almost 20 years old, still works great. Only thing I wished it had was an ash pan for easy cleaning.