Bear on the front porch and now also in the barn

/ Bear on the front porch and now also in the barn #1  

plowhog

Elite Member
Tractor
Massey 1710 / 1758, Ventrac 4500Y / TD9
Momma bear and cub are trolling the neighborhood annoying people. Recently I had them both on my front porch, which is surprising since it is very well lit. Then one of them opened the sliding barn door and pillaged through the trash can (no food in trash.) I don't have food anywhere on the property except apple trees. No apples right now.

This year I am also overrun by coyotes. Hard to sleep at night with all the howling. I'm only a part time resident.

Any suggestions on how to encourage these pests to go elsewhere? I don't mind shooting a nuisance coyote although I am not a hunter. But I want to use non-lethal means on momma and the cub.

/ Bear on the front porch and now also in the barn #2  
Not having any experience with bears I can't help you there.

Coyotes are where food is. Do you have an abundance of small game, rabbits, etc.?? An occasional shot fired "at" the coyotes will cause them to leave. They heavily weigh involved risk when selecting food.

Anxious to hear the solutions you get from those here who deal with bears frequently.

/ Bear on the front porch and now also in the barn #3  
Best I have found is a full magazine from an AR15 at the "song dogs". They don't like it even one bit, and they usually clear out. Use all precautions on where the bullets are going to go. I can't help with the bears. I have no experience with them. But coyotes hate gunfire...

/ Bear on the front porch and now also in the barn #4  
Bears that exhibit the tendencies that you describe can be and are very dangerous. They have lost their fear of humans due to multiple possible causes but the bottom line is they have lost their natural fear. In your area I would presume they are the Black bear variety and they have found that the human environment is lucrative for food.