Horse trainers

/ Horse trainers #1  

PJ The Kid

Bronze Member
Tractor
Jubilee, VAC, 7000, Cub, 1840,
Hey ya'll, just wondering if there are any other horse trainers on here. Figured it'd be good to start a thread to bounce ideas back and forth.

I have been training for a little over 15 years. I started out tuning up some neighbors roping horses and trail horses when I was about 12 and moved to breaking horses after a couple years. Trained under various well known local trainers and barns along with training for myself. After these years I love that I am still learning.

My training style is somewhat of a cross between the many trainers I have studied and worked with. Kind of a mix between old school cowboy and natural horsemanship.

/ Horse trainers #2  
I have five horses and three of them have never had a saddle on them, and probably never will. They are rescues that some friends had who could no longer take care of them due to a girl texting and driving into the side of his car. We've thought about hiring somebody to train them, but neither of us ride, or have any time to learn. They do a good job at keeping the pasture grass nice and short, and they are nice to look at.

/ Horse trainers
I have had those horses before, too old to teach anything other than ground manners. But i normally always make sure any animals I have learn good manners, not waking over the top of you, listening, etc. Had a horse for years that I had foaled especially for me, awesome bloodlines for the disciplines I wanted to get into, tried to jump a fence and broke her neck, She was the best most gentle horse ever but an adult could not ride/work her due to her neck. She was great for small children puttering around the yard though.

/ Horse trainers #4