Homeowner chainsaw rec.

/ Homeowner chainsaw rec. #1  

Red Horse

Veteran Member
Tractor
Deere 655ZTrak, Deere 4720 Cab, 400 X LT 155
I have a friend who is looking for a good homeowner saw. I'm a Stihl guy but I doubt they want to spend that kind of money. Any opinions on a decent "bang for the buck saw in today's market?
Thx

/ Homeowner chainsaw rec. #2  
Hard to beat Stihl's home-owner saws,had mine for ten years and has been great.Recently purchased a new chain and bar for mine.Really not that expensive;around $200.What are you options;cheap throw away Poulan?

/ Homeowner chainsaw rec. #3  
What does he HAVE to cut and what does he WANT to cut.
I got by with a Stihl 021 from 1984 to 2009.
My have too's for that time were big limbs from about 5 big maples.
In 2009 my want too's went to CSM and I graduated to the saws in my sig.

NOW if I just needed my 021 capabilities I'd buy a lithium-ion battery operated, either HF or B&D. No mixing oil, no ethanol problems, instant on.

The 021 is still used when I get to long term work.
/edit meant long term SMALL SIZE work. I'll will pull out a bigger Stihl when I want to use my 16" to 42" bars.

Last edited:
   / Homeowner chainsaw rec. #4  
Tell them to look at saws in their preferred size and price point then read reviews. My last saw purchase I chose a 18" Craftsman which of course isn't made by Craftsman but it had favorable reviews. They had two or three different models in the same size. The red one had bad reviews and the black one I chose had mostly good reviews. It sits in the case most of the time but whenever I need it I get it out and pull a couple times and it fires up. I keep several chains sharpened and if I dull them all I stop and sharpen chains. Have had it 5+ years and so far so good. I think I paid around $130 for it.

/ Homeowner chainsaw rec. #5